Lake Oswego senior forward Chase Hoffinger namd first team following 2018 season

REVIEW FILE PHOTO - Lake Oswego senior Chase Hoffinger soared to first-team all-Three Rivers League honors after leading the Lakers throughout the 2018 season.The Lake Oswego and Lakeridge boys soccer teams may not have always gotten the league results they wanted in 2018, but it wasn't for lack of talent.

Between them, the Lakers and Pacers boys teams saw 11 players earn all-TRL honors, with Lake Oswego landing six players on all-TRL teams and Lakeridge five.

Lake Oswego senior forward Chase Hoffinger was the lone first-team selection from Lake Oswego and Lakeridge; he helped the Lakers to a 1-4-1 finish and a fifth-place tie in the 2018 TRL race; Lake Oswego then advanced to the second round of the state playoffs before being eliminated.

"(Hoffinger was) an exceptional player who scored some fantastic goals over the course of the season," said Lake Oswego coach Fraser Morrison. "Quick and physical, Chase was able to mix it up when needed and also has an eye for defense-splitting passes, too."

Laker sophomore forward Eric Seaman won a berth on the all-TRL second team, while honorable mention picks included senior defenders Chris Anissian and Aaron Rudder, and senior midfielders Javas Wray and Sidarth Daga.

"Eric Seaman worked tirelessly on behalf of the team and acquitted himself well wherever he was asked to play," Morrison said, adding that "Anissian is another player who worked for the team whatever position he was asked to play."

Rudder, Morrison said, "has an amazing engine and pops up all over the field," adding that Wray was "a skilled player who was most effective playing just off the forward line," while Daga was "an energetic midfield player who covers a tremendous amount of space on the field … (and) has been a hugely positive member of the team the past few years."

For Lakeridge, junior defender Adam Sommer and freshman forward Ryan Sze won berths on the all-league second team, while honorable mention picks included senior midfielders Seba Marin-Quiros and Gian Gargurevich, and senior forward Pierce Boucher.

Sommer "was a consistent performer all season (who) gave his 100 percent best effort every game," said Lakeridge coach Jason Bell. "(He was) arguably our rock at the back who we could rely on."

Regarding Sze, Bell said he "showed class on and off the pitch all season. He pulled the strings in the middle and started in every single game. He's a technically gifted player and has some great years ahead of him."

Tigard junior goalkeeper Jackson Cleaver, Tigard senior defender Sajad Al Rikabi and Tualatin senior forward Mario Quiterio shared the TRL Player of the Year award, while Tigard's Angelo Simonetti was named Coach of the Year.

First Team

Goalkeeper: Jackson Cleaver, jr., Tigard

Defenders: Sajad Al Rikabi, sr., Tigard; Nathan Buckalew, jr., Tualatin; Michael Phillips, jr., West Linn; Alejandro Romero, jr., Canby

Midfielders: Lorenzo Lopez, jr., Oregon City; Abdul Ali, sr., West Linn; Zack Wesson, sr., Tualatin; Chase Hoffinger, sr., Lake Oswego; Trevor Smith, jr., Tigard; Daniel Valdovinos, sr., Tualatin

Forwards: Mario Quiterio, sr., Tualatin; Gavin Tinsley, sr., West Linn; Oscar Jacinto, sr., Tigard

Players of the Year — Jackson Cleaver, Tigard; Sajad Al Rikabi, Tigard; Mario Quiterio, Tualatin

Coach of the Year — Angelo Simonetti, Tigard

Second Team

Goalkeeper: Josepher Juarez-Cruz, so., Oregon City

Defenders: Robbie Hamilton, sr., Oregon City; Richy Olguin, sr., Tualatin; Adam Sommer, jr., Lakeridge; Jared Debban, jr., Tigard

Midfielders: Ryan Sze, fr., Lakeridge; Thijs Peperkamp, so., Canby; Garrett Jackson, sr., West Linn; Anthony Bautista, sr., Oregon City; Jack Hallam, so., Tigard; Rasheed Tahuni, jr., Tigard

Forwards: Ian Quinlan, so., Canby; Eric Seaman, so., Lake Oswego; Ashton Johnson, sr., Oregon City

Honorable Mention

Goalkeepers: Noe Rodriguez, sr., Canby; Caden Kesselring, so., West Linn

Defenders: Garrett Wiancko, sr., West Linn; Chris Anissian, sr., Lake Oswego; Aaron Rudder, sr., Lake Oswego; Edson Jimenez-Sutton, so., Oregon City; Francisco Cabello, so., Canby; Carter Phelps, fr., Oregon City; Marco Gallardo, sr., Tigard; Adam Beyer, sr., West Linn; Cole Carlile, sr., Tualatin; Luis Salas, sr., Tigard; David Bernal, sr., Canby

Midfielders: Seba Marin-Quiros, sr., Lakeridge; Ben Martinenusen, jr., Canby; Matt Kurtin, sr., West Linn; Javas Wray, sr., Lake Oswego; Brandon Bautista, sr., Oregon City; Gian Gargurevich, sr., Lakeridge; Sidarth Daga, sr., Lake Oswego

Forwards: Pierce Boucher, sr., Lakeridge; Aaron Padarath, sr., Tigard; Luke Tinsley, fr., West Linn; Christian Pumpelly, sr., Tualatin; Saul Aparicio, sr., Tualatin

Contact Sports Editor Miles Vance at 503-330-0127 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine