Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Lake Oswego's boys team sees five players named to 2018 all-Three Rivers teams

REVIEW FILE PHOTO - Lakeridge sophomore Torin Ferguson was one of four Pacers who won first-team all-league honors following the 2018 season.The Pacers earned it.

The Lakers did, too.

Indeed, by the end of the 2018 Three Rivers League boys water polo season, Lakeridge saw six of its team members honored on all-league teams while the Lakers landed five players on all-TRL teams.

For the Pacers — they finished second in the league race, then finished second in the state playoffs for a second straight year — senior Grant Lautze, junior Thomas Gooding and sophomore Torin Ferguson all won berths on the all-league first team.

"I was incredibly impressed with the amount of recognition that Lakeridge water polo athletes received this year," said Lakeridge coach Morgan Rauch. "The hard work and dedication that all members of the team put in helped to elevate the opportunities for their teammates to be recognized."

Also honored at Lakeridge were senior Oscar Loureiro Alvarez (second team), junior Brody Veater (second team) and senior Cole Dennett (honorable mention).

"I am proud that each of our starters on the boys team were recognized for their efforts," Rauch added. "As a team sport, it shows that they all worked together to contribute to their second-place state finish."

For the Lakers, senior captain Myles Williams earned a berth on the first team after helping his team finish third in the 2018 TRL race and earn a berth in the state playoffs.

"(Williams) has amazing skills, particularly in maneuvering around defenders while maintaining ball control," said Lake Oswego coach Justine Kilsby. "(He) is able to finish and score, even with a double-team defense."

The Lakers also saw three seniors — captain Ben Rabbino, goalie Conor Smith and Grant Tarbell — win second-team honors, while senior captain George Awad was named to the honorable mention team.

"Rabbino (is our) defensive coordinator who really is able to anticipate and pre-empt other team's plays," Kilsby said, adding that Smith "is an absolute wall and one of the top goalies in the state," while Tarbell "is an outside shooter and playmaker. He's also the team leader in encouraging and driving his team to succeed."

Three Rivers League All-Stars

First Team

Zach Jordan, sr., Newberg; Grant Lautze, sr., Lakeridge; Raleigh Day, sr., Newberg; Thomas Gooding, jr., Lakeridge; Lucas Gornick, fr., Tualatin; Grant Stilp, sr., Newberg; Myles Williams, sr., Lake Oswego; Torin Ferguson, so., Lakeridge; Goalie: Wilson Johnson, sr., Newberg

Most Valuable Player — Wilson Johnson, Newberg

Second Team

Ben Rabbino, sr., Lake Oswego; Grant Tarbell, sr., Lake Oswego; Oscar Loureiro Alvarez, sr., Lakeridge; Dane Findley, sr., Newberg; Brody Veater, jr., Lakeridge; Nathan Waldal, jr., Newberg; Goalie: Conor Smith, sr., Lake Oswego

Honorable Mention

Hudson Knakal, so., Tualatin; Cole Dennett, sr., Lakeridge; George Awad, sr., Lake Oswego; James Lawrance, so., Tualatin; Mircea Stan, jr., Tigard

All-State Tournament

First Team

Grant Lautze, sr., Lakeridge ; Thomas Gooding, jr. Lakeridge

Second Team

Brody Veater, jr., Lakeridge; Torin Ferguson, so., Lakeridge; Goalie: Nathan Bloom, jr., Lakeridge

Contact Sports Editor Miles Vance at 503-330-0127 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine