Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



McKelvey is named to the Class 6A second team while Lampson is honorable mention

TIDINGS FILE PHOTO - Kaitlyn Lampson, a graduated senior from West Linn High School, was named to the Class 6A all-state honorable mention team last week.It may be summertime now, but the honors keep coming in for West Linn's best softball players.

In the 2018 Class 6A all-state voting, both Brooke McKelvey and Kaitlyn Lampson were honored among the state's best players. The all-state softball lists were published on Friday.

McKelvey, a graduated senior who played outfield for the Lions, was named to the all-state second team. She was previously named to the all-Three Rivers League first team and was also honored as the TRL Player of the Year.

"Brooke is fast and reads plays in the outfield very well," West Linn coach Monica Sorenson said of McKelvey, the team's leadoff hitter and a player who will suit up next year for Carleton College in Minnesota. "She has a calmness and confidence that helped her get the batting average she has. She can bunt or hit for base hits (and she's) a great teammate."

For the season, McKelvey batted .512 with three doubles, three triples and one home run, as well as 23 RBIs, 37 runs scored, 17 steals and a .655 slugging percentage.

Lampson, a graduated senior who played infield for the Lions, was named to the all-state honorable mention team. The Harvard-bound Lampson was previously named to the all-Three Rivers League first team.

"(She was) great at hitting in runs … has an amazing knowledge of the game and knows how to motivate the team at the right time," Sorenson said. "(She was) a natural leader."

Lampson batted .406 this year, with nine doubles, two triples and one homer, along with 18 RBIs, 23 runs, six steals and a .661 slugging average.

Class 6A First team

Pitchers: Ashley Davis, Tigard, senior; Morgan Hornback, Oregon City, senior; Megan Woodward, Tualatin, senior

Catchers: Maggie Brauckmiller, Franklin, junior; Chelby Smalley, North Medford, junior

Infielders: Emily Churchill, Aloha, junior; Alyssa Daniell, Clackamas, sophomore; Kelsey Day, Westview, senior; Emma Foster, Franklin, senior; McKell McCuistion, Sprague, senior

Outfielders: Nadia Witt, McNary, senior; Taylor Holmquist, West Salem, junior; Bailey Nguyen, Franklin, senior; Alexa Bailey, Barlow, junior; Reece Martin, Westview, senior

Designated Player/Utility: Zoie Iverson, Oregon City, senior

Player of the Year — Alyssa Daniell, Clackamas

Pitcher of the Year — Ashley Davis, Tigard, senior

Coach of the Year — Jenna Wilson, Tualatin

Second team

Pitchers: Rylan Austin, North Medford, senior; Samantha Brauckmiller, Franklin, senior; Olivia Strickland, Jesuit, senior; Isabel Womack, Glencoe, senior

Catchers: Ashlynn Bailey, Glencoe, senior; Hailey Davis, West Albany, senior

Infielders: Taylor Alton, Tualatin, senior; Alex Barry, North Medford, senior; Grace Gaither, Grants Pass, junior; Emily Johansen, Tualatin, junior; Maygen McGrath, South Salem, senior

Outfielders: Lexi Klum, Tigard, sophomore; Brooke McKelvey, West Linn, senior; Joey Miller, Clackamas, senior; Ally Schuell, Madison, senior

Designated Player/Utility: Jordan Kuykendall, Grants Pass, senior

Third team

Pitcher: Grace Ferris, Roosevelt, senior

Catchers: Ella Hillier, Tualatin, senior; Isabelle Lewis, Oregon City, sophomore

Infielders: Ellie Babbit, West Albany, freshman; Morgan DeBord, Glencoe, junior; Nalani Muranaka, West Salem, senior; Gavin Shafer, Century, junior; Abby Wingo, Sunset, junior

Outfielders: Erika Allen, Roseburg, sophomore; Jensen Becker, Glencoe, junior; Vanessa Gonzalez, Forest Grove, senior; Zoe Olivera, Tualatin, senior

Designated Player/Utility: Marley Johnson, Madison, sophomore

Honorable mention

Pitchers: Mahayla Gamble, West Albany, junior; Lexi Geary, Barlow, sophomore; Shaylee Monise, Clackamas, junior

Catchers: Emily Paulson, Tigard, sophomore; Annalissa Williamson, Jesuit, senior

Infielders: Cassie Cossler, West Albany, senior; Mia Ewell, Grant, sophomore; Jenny Marnin, Jesuit, senior; Kaitlin Lampson, West Linn, senior; Kylee Vanderbout, Clackamas, senior

Outfielders: Taylor Butterfield, Glencoe, senior; Megan Convery, Reynolds, junior; Ashley Renda, Jesuit, senior; Sophia Vandersommen, Tigard, freshman

Designated Player/Utility: Presley Janzi, West Albany, freshman

Contact Sports Editor Miles Vance at 503-330-0127 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine