Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Drullinger, Finklea, Winjum and Matthiessen all win top all-league honors in '19

PMG PHOTO: MILES VANCE - West Linn senior goalie Riley Drullinger finished her career on top, being named first-team all-Three Rivers League, first-team all-state and an All-American.Simply the best.

Better than all the rest.

There's no better description for the top players from the West Linn girls lacrosse team — and voters from the Three Rivers League and around the state seem to agree.

The Lions — after finishing second in the tough-as-nails Three Rivers League, then advancing to the quarterfinals of the Oregon Girls Lacrosse Association state playoffs — saw four players named to the all-TRL first team and nine honored in total following the 2019 season.

First-team selections included senior goalie Riley Drullinger, senior attack Ragen Finklea, junior defender Grace Winjum and junior midfielder Claire Matthiessen.

Also honored were second-team picks Anna Klose (a senior midfielder) and McKenna Kelly (a sophomore midfielder), and honorable mention selections Maddie Self (a senior defender), Sarah Whitbey (a senior attack) and Carey Stell (a junior attack).

Drullinger finishes her career as a four-year starter (the first two at Clackamas), eventually playing in 62 varsity games and also being named first-team all-state, an All-American and a 2019 Adrenaline All-American.

"She will leave our program as the most decorated goalie in school history," West Linn coach Ben Finklea said of Drullinger, who will play next year at Cal Berkeley. "To think about all she has accomplished in just two seasons as a Lion is extraordinary."

Ragen Finklea — who was also named second-team all-state — finishes her West Linn career as a four-year starter with more games under her belt (65) than any other Lion. She ended up near the top of several statistical categories, with the most assists in program history (65) and second in points per game at 2.87.

"Ragen exemplifies the concept of team player. (She was) never a captain, but always a leader," said Lion assistant coach Becka Wachtel. "As one of the program's best players at multiple positions … she's done it all. And being the coach's daughter brings on additional burden and she has handled it with strength."

Winjum, meanwhile, developed into the team's top defender and an important voice on the back end of the field.

"Grace has simply transformed into our best lockdown defender and is the voice everyone listens to on defense," Ben Finklea said. "(She's) a selfless leader who has just gotten better and better since we brought her to varsity as a freshmen."

And Matthiessen — a team captain and also a second-team all-stater — continued to add to her body of work at West Linn.

"Claire … is about as gifted a natural athlete as I have ever seen," Ben Finklea said. "We moved her to the midfield for both her sophomore and junior seasons where she has blossomed. We will look to her as a senior leader in 2020."

While Klose — another four-year starter and two-time team captain — was named to the all-TRL second team this year, there was no discounting her value to the team and program. She finished at No. 2 all-time for games played at West Linn, No. 1 all-time in shots taken (316) and No. 2 all-time in goals scored (156).

"Simply put, I have never met a smarter lacrosse player than Anna. Her lacrosse IQ is off the charts," Ben Finklea said. "She knows what the coaches are going to say before the words pass our lips. No one in our program has worked harder or put in more extra hours in the last three years than Anna. … She is a grinder, a blue-collar player, a get-to-work player who has earned her place on the all-time list here at West Linn."

All-Three Rivers League

First Team: Attack — Katie Freeman, jr., Lake Oswego; Brooklyne Waddell, jr., Wilsonville; Ragen Finklea, sr., West Linn. Midfield — Katy Gilbert, sr., Lake Oswego; Claire Matthiessen, jr., West Linn; Zoe Ziegler, jr., Lake Oswego; Avery Lanz, fr., Wilsonville; Claire LeBlanc, sr., St. Mary's; Defense — McKinley Mullen, sr., Lake Oswego; Grace Winjum, jr., West Linn; Taylor Hamper, sr., Lake Oswego. Goalie — Riley Drullinger, sr., West Linn.

Player of the Year — Katy Gilbert, Lake Oswego

Coach of the Year — Lauren Anderson, Lake Oswego

Second Team: Attack — Rylee Sutherland, sr., Lake Oswego; Siena Davies, sr., Lakeridge; Kasey Hogan, sr., Oregon City. Midfield — Marie HartfieId, sr., Lakeridge; Anna Klose, sr., West Linn; Katie Kathan, jr., Oregon City; Grace Warner, sr., St. Mary's; McKenna Kelly, so., West Linn. Defense — Zoe Kleiner, jr., Oregon City; Ellie King, sr., Clackamas; Taylor Anders, sr., Lake Oswego. Goalie — Averi Basso, sr., Lakeridge.


(Lake Oswego, Lakeridge, West Linn selections only)

First Team: Attack — Katie Freeman, jr., Lake Oswego. Midfield —Katy Gilbert, sr., Lake Oswego; Zoe Ziegler, jr., Lake Oswego. Defense — Taylor Hamper, jr., Lake Oswego; McKinley Mullen, sr., Lake Oswego. Goalie — Riley Drullinger, sr., West Linn.

Second Team: Attack — Ragen Finklea, sr., West Linn. Midfield — Claire Matthiessen, jr., West Linn.

Contact Sports Editor Miles Vance at 503-330-0127 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine